top of page
  • bassindalebirding

And So it Starts

April is always a weird time. Migration is just starting for some species and others it is just coming to and end. We are now on the end of ducks coming through and the start of passerines and this week (specifically Sunday) was specifically good for migrants, I myself nailed down 11 First of the Years and got at least 2 early migrants for the area.


I started the day on the 24th at Safari Rd. This is likely the best place in the entire Hamilton county to find marsh birds like Sora and Common Gallinule and it did not disappoint. When I pulled up a friend of mine was already there, he had already spotted the Gallinule and just seconds after I showed I heard it, this was the first for me this year but there were definitely 2 hanging around. I had an experience first as well as I heard my first Pied-billed Grebe. Where I'm from we don't get breeding grebes, and man is it a weird sound! We listened to the grebes for a little while and moved onto bigger game, there was a report of American Bittern coming from there and that was a bird I was really not wanting to miss 2 years in a row. This is more of a waiting game than anything, Bittern are birds that sounds I am well versed in as they breed where I used to hang out in Nippissing. After a few minutes we heard a hard ker-plunk! American Bittern! After the bittern stopped singing we moved towards the end of the road where I parked and low and behold a Solitary Sandpiper flew in! Yet another first of the year! Not long after the Sandpiper showed up my friend and I had to part ways.

After the Safari Rd fun I moved on to a spot where there were a few Northern Waterthrush singing. I waited a mere seconds for them to start singing, just amazing! Earliest I've seen one and the most I've seen in a single spot!

A Sora in the open...WHAT
Northern Waterthrush don't always show themselves but they are a hell of a singer!

This was a day full of first-of-the-years because I also was able to see a few other early migrants in Hamilton Cemetery. After a report of Blue-headed Vireo I decided to see if I could find the little guy. This is the first time I'd ever birder it and it was an interesting experience! After a little searching I actually managed to find a Lincoln's Sparrow, first one in Hamilton for 2021! Snapped some quick photos and continued my search! Just about to leave I look over at a tree to the north of where I was searching and there was the Vireo! Amazing little guy and gorgeous!

An early Lincoln's Sparrow!
Little Blue-headed Vireo!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
Dark Background Transparent.png
bottom of page